Living a Dream

Since I was kid I have been around lakes, oceans, and water. Swimming has always been a large part of my life from lessons as a child all the way to life guarding for years in high school. Swimming very quickly lead to snorkeling which eventually lead to SCUBA diving. Two weeks ago I began a journey with Rich Coast Diving in Playa Del Coco, Costa Rica. When I leave here in 3 months, I will be a PADI DiveMaster and be ready to work in the field of SCUBA diving.

D115089C-5A1C-4C14-8F72-AE37B80309CF

I became an open water certified diver 2 years ago back home in Canada. The experience was amazing and I could not get enough of being submerged in water for long periods of time. I went out diving every chance I got, including a dive on New Years Eve in -1 degree Celsius water.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I knew I wanted to get moving quickly through my courses and get as much experience diving as I could. Since I live in such a small community with an even smaller, but amazing, dive community. I knew I would have to go elsewhere to get the experience I required to become a divemaster in the time span I set for myself.

I chose Costa Rica as the country I wanted to go to and began looking into DiveMaster Interships. Rich Coast Diving was the only 5 star CDC rated with a PADI Platnium Course director and since they were located on the Pasific Coast as well, I knew it was where I needed to go for my Dive Master Internship.

11A043B8-EFC7-48CC-80CF-6020339E7A69
PADI Course Ladder

I have now been here for  2 weeks and have loved every minute of time spent here. I came down here with 47 logged dives in a  2 year span. I have now logged 20 more dives under my belt since arriving here. I am getting the experience I require in a fun and safe environment with an amazing staff crew, course instructors and course director. I am very glad I chose this path for myself and I encourage anyone thinking about getting into a diving career to consider coming to Costa Rica and learning here at Rich Coast.

I will leave you with some pictures that I have taken over the past two weeks while diving here in Costa Rica. Cheers!! Hank the Tank Diver

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Living a Dream

Leave a comment